Source checked

Signet enters $125 million accelerated buyback, receives initial shares

Signet paid JPMorgan $125 million and received approximately 1,023,000 common shares on September 11. Final settlement is expected between September 25 and December 2, 2026.

Sources

Based on verified sources: Signet Jewelers Limited Form 8-K AccNo 0000832988-26-000231, filed 2026-09-14. Item 8.01 Other Events; ASR Agreement dated September 10, 2026 with JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. to repurchase $125 million of common shares; payment of $125 million and initial delivery of approximately 1,023,000 Common Shares on September 11, 2026; final settlement expected between September 25 and December 2, 2026; approximately $575 million repurchase authorization remaining under the 2017 Share Repurchase Program upon completion, subject to further repurchases during the ASR term. Primary-only.

Based on the September 10, 2026 ASR Agreement and September 11, 2026 payment/initial delivery disclosed in Form 8-K AccNo 0000832988-26-000231 Item 8.01 (filing posted to EDGAR September 14, 2026).

What “Source checked” means

Signet Jewelers Limited (NYSE: SIG) entered an accelerated share repurchase agreement with JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. on September 10, 2026 to repurchase $125 million of common shares. The company paid JPMorgan $125 million on September 11 and received an initial delivery of approximately 1,023,000 common shares that day, according to its September 14 Form 8-K. Final settlement remains ahead (Form 8-K AccNo 0000832988-26-000231).

Agreement and initial delivery put the plan into execution

The agreement consists of a master confirmation and a supplemental confirmation with JPMorgan. Signet described the transaction as part of its previously announced share repurchase plans. The new disclosure records the agreement, payment and initial delivery, advancing the transaction beyond the previously announced plan.

The dates distinguish the stages of the transaction: Signet entered the agreement on September 10, paid the cash and received the initial shares on September 11, and disclosed those events in the filing dated September 14. The approximately 1,023,000 shares represent an initial delivery, rather than the final number of shares to be repurchased under the agreement.

Final share count depends on the calculation period

The total number of common shares repurchased will generally depend on the average of daily volume-weighted average prices during the agreement's calculation period, less a discount. The terms also allow adjustments if specified events occur. The verified disclosure does not establish a final share count, a numerical volume-weighted average price or the size of the discount.

Settlement can require an adjustment in either direction. JPMorgan may have to deliver additional common shares to Signet. Under certain circumstances, Signet may instead have to deliver common shares or make a cash payment to JPMorgan. The initial delivery does not establish which outcome will apply.

Signet expects final settlement between September 25 and December 2, 2026. That window is subject to postponement, adjustment, cancellation or early termination upon certain events specified in the agreement. It is an expected timetable, and the filing does not report that the transaction has finally settled.

Remaining authorization carries a qualification

Upon completion of the agreement, Signet said it would have approximately $575 million of repurchase authorization remaining under its 2017 Share Repurchase Program. That amount is subject to further repurchases during the ASR term, so it should not be read as an exact balance after any concurrent buying.

Additional repurchases may take place through further accelerated programs, open-market purchases, 10b5-1 plans, block trades or other methods. Signet retains discretion over their timing, manner, price and amount, subject to economic and market conditions, stock prices, applicable legal requirements and other factors. The authorization therefore does not specify a fixed schedule for additional purchases.

Settlement still ahead

The next transaction milestone is final settlement. The unresolved details are the total shares repurchased and whether settlement requires additional shares from JPMorgan or shares or cash from Signet. Any updated authorization balance would also need to reflect further repurchases during the agreement's term. This report concerns execution of the ASR agreement and its initial delivery; it does not update Signet's quarterly results or guidance.

Filing reference

Signet Jewelers Limited disclosed the accelerated share repurchase agreement in Form 8-K AccNo 0000832988-26-000231 (Item 8.01; earliest event September 10, 2026; filed September 14, 2026).

What Signet’s Form 8-K does not settle about the ASR

- Exact final share count, VWAP, and discount amount are not stated in Item 8.01 of AccNo 0000832988-26-000231. - Whether final settlement requires additional shares from JPMorgan or shares/cash from Signet is not determined in AccNo 0000832988-26-000231. - Exact remaining authorization after any concurrent open-market activity during the ASR term is not locked beyond the approximate $575 million upon completion figure in AccNo 0000832988-26-000231. - Market reaction is not stated in AccNo 0000832988-26-000231 Item 8.01.

Document trail

Sources & evidence

Primary documents used for this piece.

  1. Signet Jewelers Limited via SEC EDGAR

    SIG Form 8-K EDGAR index AccNo 0000832988-26-000231

    Form 8-K index · 2026-09-14

  2. Signet Jewelers Limited via SEC EDGAR

    SIG Form 8-K Item 8.01 AccNo 0000832988-26-000231

    Form 8-K · 2026-09-14

Visual brief

Verified figures

Sources & evidence
  1. USD millions

    125

    ASR Agreement repurchase amount (Item 8.01)

    Entered 2026-09-10

    Signet Jewelers Limited via SEC EDGARSIG Form 8-K Item 8.01 AccNo 0000832988-26-000231Form 8-K · 09-14-2026
  2. USD millions

    125

    Payment to JPMorgan under ASR Agreement (Item 8.01)

    Paid 2026-09-11

    Signet Jewelers Limited via SEC EDGARSIG Form 8-K Item 8.01 AccNo 0000832988-26-000231Form 8-K · 09-14-2026
  3. Approximate initial Common Shares delivered (Item 8.01)

    1023000

    shares

    Delivered 2026-09-11

    Signet Jewelers Limited via SEC EDGARSIG Form 8-K Item 8.01 AccNo 0000832988-26-000231Form 8-K · 09-14-2026

Corrections

We do not silently rewrite a published line. Material corrections receive a visible correction note, and we preserve the article’s update history.

How TickerGrove corrects a line

Get the Morning BriefWeekday Morning Brief · Saturday Weekend Brief · Sunday Week Ahead

Discuss this story. Join the TickerGrove community to talk companies, earnings, and markets, or request future coverage.

Education and journalism only. Read the full disclaimer.

Companies · All stories