Companies
New Era signs long-term Luminant power deal for Texas data center
The Vistra affiliate will supply the first phase of New Era’s planned Midland/Odessa project, with power availability expected next year. Pricing and construction financing remain undisclosed in the source excerpt.
Sources
New Era Energy & Digital, Inc. Form 8-K AccNo 0001213900-26-101642 (filed September 21, 2026; earliest event September 18, 2026), including Exhibit 99.1 press release dated September 21, 2026.
Based on New Era Form 8-K and Exhibit 99.1 dated September 21, 2026 (earliest event September 18, 2026).
New Era Energy & Digital has secured a long-term power purchase agreement with Luminant ET Services Company, a Vistra affiliate, for the first phase of its Texas Critical Data Center project. The agreement gives the planned Midland/Odessa development a named electricity supplier and a contracted supply range, making power procurement a more concrete part of the company’s development plan. New Era disclosed the arrangement in a securities filing and an accompanying company announcement.
The agreement
The agreement involves New Era subsidiary TCDC PowerCo LLC and Luminant. The company’s announcement identifies Vistra’s natural gas-fired generating facility in Odessa, adjacent to the data-center site, as the supply source. That places an existing generation asset alongside the planned development in New Era’s account of how the first phase will obtain electricity. It does not, by itself, establish when the data center will begin serving customers.
The distinction between contracted supply and an operating facility matters here. The disclosed power availability date is an expectation, while the purchase agreement is a contractual step supporting the project. Investors can assess the announcement as progress on sourcing electricity without treating it as evidence that construction, financing and customer operations are complete. The source excerpt does not establish those broader outcomes.
New Era said the initial agreement term will be followed by automatic annual renewals. The disclosed minimum and maximum supply levels apply specifically to the first phase of TCDC. Those boundaries make the announcement more specific than a general statement of interest in supplying the site, but they should not be extended to later development. The verified contract term, supply range and expected availability appear in the figures below.
A companion development framework establishes a pathway for future expansion at the site, according to the announcement. That framework gives the companies a stated basis for considering additional development. It does not supply a verified capacity figure for a later phase. The current announcement therefore supports a defined first-phase power plan and a broader expansion pathway, with different levels of detail for each.
What is disclosed and what is not
Chief Executive Charlie Nelson framed power contracted in New Era’s name as a way to reduce first-phase development risk and move toward what he called “permitted powered land.” That is management’s assessment of the agreement’s significance. It is not a finding that development risk has been eliminated or that every permit and funding requirement has been satisfied. The filing and announcement provide evidence of the power arrangement, while the executive’s characterization explains the company’s intended development rationale.
The financial limits of the disclosure are also material. The verified announcement excerpt does not state a power price, a total contract value or enough information to calculate the economics of the arrangement. It also does not establish whether construction of the first phase is fully financed. A long-term supply agreement can be relevant to evaluating a development’s funding prospects, but the disclosed term and capacity alone cannot demonstrate profitability or financing completeness.
For New Era, which trades on Nasdaq under NUAI, the announcement links its data-center development plan to a supplier affiliated with a larger publicly traded power generator. For readers following Vistra, the relevant disclosed role is Luminant’s participation in the first-phase power arrangement and the identification of the adjacent Odessa generating facility. The source material does not provide a basis for quantifying the contract’s contribution to either company’s earnings.
The chronology should remain clear: the earliest event reported in the Form 8-K was September 18, while the filing and press release are dated September 21. The announcement is a disclosure of that agreement, not evidence of an operating launch on the press date. Further assessment of the project will depend on information about delivery against the expected power schedule, construction funding and the economics that are absent from the verified excerpt.
What the filing does not disclose
The announcement does not give a PPA price, total contract value, or confirmation that TCDC Phase 1 construction is fully financed.
Document trail
Sources & evidence
Primary documents used for this piece.
New Era Energy & Digital, Inc. via SEC EDGAR
NUAI Form 8-K EDGAR index AccNo 0001213900-26-101642
Form 8-K index · 2026-09-21
New Era Energy & Digital, Inc. via SEC EDGAR
Exhibit 99.1 — 20-Year, 207 MW PPA with Vistra
Exhibit 99.1 · 2026-09-21
New Era Energy & Digital, Inc. via SEC EDGAR
NUAI Form 8-K AccNo 0001213900-26-101642
Form 8-K · 2026-09-21
Visual brief
Verified figures
Sources & evidenceMW
200
Phase 1 minimum contracted power
As announced 2026-09-21
New Era Energy & Digital, Inc. via SEC EDGARExhibit 99.1 — 20-Year, 207 MW PPA with VistraExhibit 99.1 · 09-21-2026MW
207
Phase 1 maximum contracted power
As announced 2026-09-21
New Era Energy & Digital, Inc. via SEC EDGARExhibit 99.1 — 20-Year, 207 MW PPA with VistraExhibit 99.1 · 09-21-2026MW
1180
Adjacent Vistra Odessa generating facility capacity cited in announcement
As cited in Exhibit 99.1 dated 2026-09-21
New Era Energy & Digital, Inc. via SEC EDGARExhibit 99.1 — 20-Year, 207 MW PPA with VistraExhibit 99.1 · 09-21-2026
Corrections
We do not silently rewrite a published line. Material corrections receive a visible correction note, and we preserve the article’s update history.
Discuss this story. Join the TickerGrove community to talk companies, earnings, and markets, or request future coverage.
