Source checked

Novartis pelacarsen misses primary endpoint in Phase III Lp(a)HORIZON trial

Novartis said pelacarsen lowered lipoprotein(a) levels but did not meet the primary endpoint in its Phase III cardiovascular outcomes trial in patients with elevated Lp(a) and established cardiovascular disease.

Sources

Novartis AG Form 6-K, dated and filed September 4, 2026, AccNo 0001171843-26-005896; accompanying ad hoc announcement pursuant to Art. 53 LR. Trial identifier: NCT04023552.

As of September 4, 2026. Topline only; detailed Lp(a)HORIZON data deferred to an upcoming medical congress. Subpopulation outcomes not disclosed in this 6-K.

What “Source checked” means

Visual brief

Verified figures

Sources & evidence
  1. patients

    8,323

    Novartis AG / Lp(a)HORIZON

    Trial enrollment

  2. overall population

    70 mg/dL

    Novartis AG / Lp(a)HORIZON

    Overall Lp(a) threshold

  3. outcome not disclosed

    90 mg/dL

    Novartis AG / Lp(a)HORIZON

    Higher-Lp(a) subgroup threshold

Novartis AG (NYSE: NVS) said its investigational drug pelacarsen did not meet the primary endpoint in the Phase III Lp(a)HORIZON trial, which tested whether treatment could reduce cardiovascular events in patients with elevated lipoprotein(a), or Lp(a), and established cardiovascular disease.

Primary endpoint missed

Novartis AG (NYSE: NVS) said its investigational drug pelacarsen did not meet the primary endpoint in the Phase III Lp(a)HORIZON trial, which tested whether treatment could reduce cardiovascular events in patients with elevated lipoprotein(a), or Lp(a), and established cardiovascular disease.

The primary endpoint was a composite of cardiovascular death, non-fatal myocardial infarction, non-fatal stroke and urgent coronary revascularization requiring hospitalization, compared with placebo. Novartis disclosed the topline results in a September 4 Form 6-K containing an ad hoc press release under Art. 53 LR.

Biomarker lowered, outcomes not

Pelacarsen lowered Lp(a) levels, but the findings did not demonstrate reduced cardiovascular risk in the overall study population. Participants received guideline-directed background therapy, including lipid-lowering and antihypertensive treatment. The result distinguishes lowering the biomarker from demonstrating a cardiovascular benefit in this trial.

Trial size and undisclosed detail

The randomized, placebo-controlled study enrolled 8,323 patients, according to the release's trial description. The primary endpoint was defined for the overall population with Lp(a) of at least 70 mg/dL and a subpopulation with Lp(a) of at least 90 mg/dL. The topline miss was framed around the overall population; the release did not disclose subpopulation outcomes.

Novartis said data would be presented at an upcoming medical congress. The release did not provide hazard ratios or detailed results tables, limiting assessment of the magnitude of the treatment effect or differences across patient groups.

Company context

Shreeram Aradhye, Novartis president of Development and chief medical officer, described the study as a pioneering cardiovascular outcomes trial. He said the results were not what the company had hoped for, while emphasizing their contribution to understanding Lp(a) and thanking the more than 8,000 participants.

Pelacarsen is an investigational antisense oligonucleotide designed to inhibit Lp(a) production. Novartis holds global rights through a license and collaboration with Ionis Pharmaceuticals. Novartis said elevated Lp(a) affects approximately one in five people worldwide and that no targeted treatment is approved.

Magnitude of effect and subgroup outcomes remain undisclosed here

The 6-K does not include hazard ratios, detailed tables, or subpopulation (Lp(a) ≥90 mg/dL) outcomes. Those details are expected at an upcoming medical congress.

Document trail

Sources & evidence

Primary documents used for this piece.

  1. Novartis AG

    Form 6-K AccNo 0001171843-26-005896 — SEC accession number

  2. Novartis AG

    sec.gov

  3. ClinicalTrials.gov

    clinicaltrials.gov

Corrections

We do not silently rewrite a published line. Material corrections receive a visible correction note, and we preserve the article’s update history.

How TickerGrove corrects a line

Get the Morning BriefWeekday Morning Brief · Saturday Weekend Brief · Sunday Week Ahead

Discuss this story. Join the TickerGrove community to talk companies, earnings, and markets, or request future coverage.

Education and journalism only. Read the full disclaimer.

Companies · All stories