Source checked

IQVIA closes $2.0B of 6.375% senior notes due 2034 for near-term refinancing

IQVIA (NYSE:IQV) completes $2.0B of 6.375% senior notes due 2034; Item 1.01 says net proceeds will redeem Senior 5.000% Notes due 2026 in full, repay part of the revolver, and cover fees (Form 8-K AccNo 0001193125-26-399616).

Sources

IQVIA Holdings Inc. Form 8-K AccNo 0001193125-26-399616, filed 2026-09-23. Items 1.01/2.03/9.01 + EX-4.1 Indenture ($2.0B 6.375% senior notes due 2034; Item 1.01 use of proceeds: redeem Senior 5.000% Notes due 2026 in full + partial revolver; EX-4.1 defines 5.000% due 2027 and 1.750% euro due 2026).

Based on IQVIA Holdings Inc. Form 8-K AccNo 0001193125-26-399616 Items 1.01/2.03/9.01; earliest event and notes close September 23, 2026; EX-4.1 Indenture dated September 23, 2026 (defined series include Senior 5.000% Notes due 2027 and Senior 1.750% Notes due 2026; Item 1.01 redemption label is Senior 5.000% Notes due 2026).

What “Source checked” means

IQVIA Holdings Inc. said that on September 23, 2026 its subsidiary IQVIA Inc. completed the issuance and sale of $2.0 billion in gross proceeds of 6.375% senior notes due 2034, with net proceeds that Item 1.01 says will be used to redeem in full the issuer’s Senior 5.000% Notes due 2026, repay a portion of revolving credit facility borrowings, and pay related fees and expenses.

IQVIA locked in $2.0 billion of longer-dated senior notes on September 23, 2026, completing a refinancing meant to clear nearer-term notes and chip away at revolving credit balances — a balance-sheet move that extends maturity into 2034 without waiting for a later close event.

$2.0 billion of 6.375% notes due 2034

On September 23, 2026, IQVIA Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of IQVIA Holdings Inc. (NYSE: IQV), completed the issuance and sale of $2,000,000,000 in gross proceeds of 6.375% senior notes due 2034. The notes were issued under an Indenture dated the same day among the issuer, U.S. Bank Trust Company, National Association, as trustee, and certain IQVIA Inc. subsidiaries as guarantors. A copy of that Indenture is filed as Exhibit 4.1 to the Form 8-K.

The notes are unsecured obligations of IQVIA Inc. They mature on March 15, 2034, unless earlier repurchased or redeemed, and bear interest at 6.375% per year. Interest is payable semi-annually on March 15 and September 15, beginning March 15, 2027.

How the company plans to use the cash

Item 1.01 of the Form 8-K says net proceeds from the offering will be used to redeem in full the issuer’s Senior 5.000% Notes due 2026, to repay a portion of outstanding borrowings under its revolving credit facility, and to pay fees and expenses tied to the notes offering. In plain terms, IQVIA intends to apply the new $2.0 billion tranche toward nearer-term coupon debt and revolver balances rather than leave the 2026 notes outstanding.

Exhibit 4.1’s defined series list does not name “Senior 5.000% Notes due 2026.” It does define “Senior 5.000% Notes due 2027” ($1.1 billion aggregate principal) and “Senior 1.750% Notes” (€550 million senior unsecured notes due 2026). This article keeps the redemption target as Item 1.01 states it and does not substitute either Exhibit 4.1 series principal for that target, or claim that either series has already been redeemed.

The Form 8-K does not quantify net proceeds after discounts and fees, the exact principal of the notes Item 1.01 identifies for redemption, or the dollar amount of revolver debt to be repaid. Completing the notes issuance is not the same as completing those redemptions and repayments.

Redemption terms

IQVIA Inc. may redeem the new notes before final maturity. Before September 15, 2029, redemption is subject to a customary make-whole premium, with a customary equity-claw redemption right. On or after that date, the redemption premium declines from 3.188% to 0.000% under the Indenture schedule. The Form 8-K summary is qualified by the full Indenture text in Exhibit 4.1.

What this filing settles

The Form 8-K settles that $2.0 billion of 6.375% senior notes due 2034 were issued and sold on September 23, 2026, that the Indenture and guarantees are in place, and that Item 1.01’s intended use of proceeds is a full redemption of the Senior 5.000% Notes due 2026 (as labeled in the 8-K), plus a partial revolver repayment and related fees. It does not settle that those notes have already been redeemed, that the revolver has already been paid down, that net proceeds equal the $2.0 billion gross figure, or how Item 1.01’s “Senior 5.000% Notes due 2026” maps onto Exhibit 4.1’s defined “Senior 5.000% Notes due 2027” or euro “Senior 1.750% Notes” due 2026.

What the closing disclosure does not settle

The Form 8-K does not quantify net proceeds after discounts and fees, does not state the outstanding principal of the Senior 5.000% Notes due 2026 labeled in Item 1.01, does not state the revolver amount to be repaid, does not disclose a market reaction, and does not reconcile Item 1.01’s 2026 series label with Exhibit 4.1’s defined Senior 5.000% Notes due 2027 or euro Senior 1.750% Notes due 2026.

Document trail

Sources & evidence

Sources used for this piece.

  1. IQVIA Holdings Inc. via SEC EDGAR

    Form 8-K index AccNo 0001193125-26-399616

    Form index · 2026-09-23

  2. IQVIA Holdings Inc. via SEC EDGAR

    Form 8-K AccNo 0001193125-26-399616

    Form 8-K · 2026-09-23

  3. IQVIA Holdings Inc. via SEC EDGAR

    EX-4.1 Indenture AccNo 0001193125-26-399616

    Exhibit · 2026-09-23

Visual brief

Verified figures

Sources & evidence
  1. USD millions

    2000.0

    Gross proceeds of 6.375% senior notes due 2034

    Close 2026-09-23

    IQVIA Holdings Inc. via SEC EDGARForm 8-K AccNo 0001193125-26-399616Form 8-K · 09-23-2026
  2. Coupon on senior notes due 2034

    6.375

    %

    Close 2026-09-23

    IQVIA Holdings Inc. via SEC EDGARForm 8-K AccNo 0001193125-26-399616Form 8-K · 09-23-2026
  3. Coupon on Senior Notes due 2026 labeled in Item 1.01 for intended full redemption (Exhibit 4.1 defines 5.000% notes due 2027, not 2026)

    5.000

    %

    Use of proceeds disclosed in Item 1.01 on 2026-09-23

    IQVIA Holdings Inc. via SEC EDGARForm 8-K AccNo 0001193125-26-399616Form 8-K · 09-23-2026

Corrections

We do not silently rewrite a published line. Material corrections receive a visible correction note, and we preserve the article’s update history.

How TickerGrove corrects a line

Get the Morning Brief — Weekday Morning Brief · Saturday Weekend Brief · Sunday Week Ahead

Discuss this story. Join TickerGrove on Discord to talk companies, earnings, and markets, or request future coverage.

Education and journalism only. Read the full disclaimer.

Companies · All stories