Source checked

DICK'S closes $1B of senior notes due 2036 and 2056

DICK'S (NYSE:DKS) issues $400M 6.200% notes due 2036 and $600M 6.900% notes due 2056 (Form 8-K AccNo 0001140361-26-037715).

Sources

Based on verified sources: DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. Form 8-K AccNo 0001140361-26-037715, filed 2026-09-25. Item 1.01/9.01 + EX-4.2 Third Supplemental Indenture ($400M 6.200% Senior Notes due 2036 + $600M 6.900% Senior Notes due 2056).

Based on DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. Form 8-K AccNo 0001140361-26-037715 Items 1.01/9.01; notes sold and issued with Third Supplemental Indenture dated September 25, 2026; filed September 25, 2026; Underwriting Agreement dated September 22, 2026; FWP settlement September 25, 2026.

What “Source checked” means

DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. said that on September 25, 2026 it sold and issued $400 million of 6.200% senior notes due 2036 and $600 million of 6.900% senior notes due 2056, disclosing the close in Form 8-K AccNo 0001140361-26-037715 with a Third Supplemental Indenture dated the same day.

DICK'S Sporting Goods closed a $1 billion senior notes book on September 25, 2026 — issuing twin fixed-rate tranches that lengthen the retailer's unsecured debt stack into 2036 and 2056.

$1 billion issued across 2036 and 2056

On September 25, 2026, DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. (NYSE: DKS) sold and issued $1.0 billion aggregate principal amount of senior notes: $400 million of 6.200% senior notes due 2036 and $600 million of 6.900% senior notes due 2056. The company disclosed the close in Form 8-K Item 1.01 AccNo 0001140361-26-037715, filed the same day, stating the notes "were sold pursuant to the Underwriting Agreement and were issued pursuant to the Prospectus Supplement."

The underwriting agreement with BofA Securities, PNC Capital Markets, and Wells Fargo Securities (as representatives) was signed September 22, 2026. The notes were registered on Form S-3ASR (File No. 333-299029) dated September 21, 2026, with a Rule 424(b)(2) prospectus supplement filed September 23, 2026. The free-writing prospectus priced settlement for September 25, 2026 (T+3).

Indenture, coupons, maturity, and ranking

The notes are governed by the company's Base Indenture dated January 14, 2022 with U.S. Bank Trust Company, National Association, as trustee, as supplemented by a Third Supplemental Indenture dated September 25, 2026 (Exhibit 4.2).

The 2036 notes mature on September 25, 2036 and the 2056 notes on September 25, 2056. Interest on both series is payable semi-annually on March 25 and September 25, commencing March 25, 2027, per the September 22 pricing term sheet.

The notes are unsecured, unsubordinated obligations of DICK'S and rank equally with the company's other existing and future unsecured, unsubordinated indebtedness. They are not guaranteed by any subsidiaries and are therefore structurally subordinated to subsidiary liabilities.

Use of proceeds and call features

DICK'S said it intends to use net proceeds for general corporate purposes, which may include funding operations, repaying debt, repurchasing shares, and future acquisitions. The Form 8-K does not state a dollar amount of net proceeds.

Per the pricing term sheet, the 2036 notes are optionally redeemable with a make-whole call at T+20 basis points before June 25, 2036 and at par thereafter; the 2056 notes use a make-whole at T+25 before March 25, 2056 and par thereafter. Issue prices were 99.853% (2036) and 99.962% (2056).

Sources & evidence

- DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. Form 8-K AccNo 0001140361-26-037715 Item 1.01 — underwriting agreement, sale and issuance of the notes, Third Supplemental Indenture dated September 25, 2026, ranking, and use of proceeds. - Exhibit 4.2 Third Supplemental Indenture — forms of the 6.200% notes due 2036 and 6.900% notes due 2056. - Free Writing Prospectus (Sep. 22, 2026) — settlement date, interest payment dates, issue prices, yields, spreads, and optional redemption terms.

What the closing disclosure does not settle

The Form 8-K does not state a dollar amount of net proceeds after discounts and expenses, does not commit proceeds to a named acquisition, and does not include Item 2.03 (Items disclosed are 1.01 and 9.01 only).

Document trail

Sources & evidence

Sources used for this piece.

  1. DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. via SEC EDGAR

    Form 8-K index AccNo 0001140361-26-037715

    Form index · 2026-09-25

  2. DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. via SEC EDGAR

    Form 8-K body ef20082695_8k.htm

    Form 8-K · 2026-09-25

  3. DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. via SEC EDGAR

    Exhibit 4.2 Third Supplemental Indenture

    EX-4.2 · 2026-09-25

Visual brief

Verified figures

Sources & evidence
  1. USD principal

    $400,000,000

    DICK'S 6.200% Senior Notes due 2036 — aggregate principal

    Sold and issued 2026-09-25

    DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. via SEC EDGARForm 8-K body ef20082695_8k.htmForm 8-K · 09-25-2026
  2. % per annum

    6.200%

    DICK'S Senior Notes due 2036 — coupon

    Interest from settlement; payable Mar 25 / Sep 25 commencing 2027-03-25

    DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. via SEC EDGARForm 8-K body ef20082695_8k.htmForm 8-K · 09-25-2026
  3. USD principal

    $600,000,000

    DICK'S 6.900% Senior Notes due 2056 — aggregate principal

    Sold and issued 2026-09-25

    DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. via SEC EDGARForm 8-K body ef20082695_8k.htmForm 8-K · 09-25-2026

Corrections

We do not silently rewrite a published line. Material corrections receive a visible correction note, and we preserve the article’s update history.

How TickerGrove corrects a line

Get the Morning Brief — Weekday Morning Brief · Saturday Weekend Brief · Sunday Week Ahead

Discuss this story. Join TickerGrove on Discord to talk companies, earnings, and markets, or request future coverage.

Education and journalism only. Read the full disclaimer.

Companies · All stories