Companies
Addus signs $275 million deal for AccentCare personal care business outside New York
The pending cash acquisition would add approximately $280 million in annualized revenue, Addus expects, with regulatory approvals and the HSR waiting period still among closing conditions.
Sources
Addus HomeCare Corporation Form 8-K, accession 0001437749-26-030348, Items 1.01, 7.01 and 9.01; Exhibit 10.1, Equity and Asset Purchase Agreement dated September 12, 2026; and Exhibit 99.1, press release dated September 14, 2026. EDGAR filing time approximately September 14, 2026, 17:05 ET. Primary-only.
Based on the September 12, 2026 Purchase Agreement date disclosed in Form 8-K AccNo 0001437749-26-030348 Item 1.01 and Exhibit 99.1 (filing posted to EDGAR September 14, 2026). The acquisition has not closed.
Addus HomeCare Corporation (Nasdaq: ADUS) has signed a definitive agreement for its wholly owned subsidiary, Addus HealthCare, Inc., to acquire AccentCare, Inc.’s personal care and community care business outside New York for $275 million in cash, subject to customary adjustments. The agreement was entered into on September 12, 2026, and disclosed in a September 14 Form 8-K. The acquisition remains pending: closing requires regulatory approvals, expiration of the Hart-Scott-Rodino waiting period and other customary conditions (Form 8-K AccNo 0001437749-26-030348).
A larger personal care footprint
In its September 14 announcement, Addus said it expects the business to add approximately $280 million in annualized revenue and increase its revenue base by approximately 19%. The company’s expected operating scale includes an average daily census of approximately 13,700 customers across a 10-state footprint. Those figures are company expectations from Exhibit 99.1, rather than independently verified forecasts or revenue already recorded by Addus from the transaction.
Addus said the acquisition would significantly expand its personal care presence in Texas, Illinois, California and Arizona, while also adding operations in Colorado, Georgia, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Washington. The proposed purchase is specifically limited to the personal care and community care business outside New York. AccentCare’s hospice and home health operations are excluded. The disclosures do not establish a disposition path for the excluded New York operations.
The announced revenue contribution and geographic reach make the agreement a material proposed expansion of Addus’s personal care platform. The scope also matters: readers should not treat this as an acquisition of AccentCare as a whole or fold its excluded service lines into the announced business. Until closing conditions are satisfied and the transaction completes, the disclosed scale remains the company’s description of the proposed addition.
Cash consideration, revolver funding
The agreement sets cash consideration at $275 million, with adjustments for working capital and other customary items. The press release describes an anticipated purchase price after customary adjustments of approximately $275 million. That is the announced transaction amount; the final adjustment is not established in the verified disclosures. Addus said it plans to fund the purchase through a combination of its revolving credit facility and cash on hand.
The purchase agreement has no financing condition, according to Item 1.01 of the 8-K. It also provides for no termination fee or reverse termination fee, although the parties have termination rights. Separately, the buyer is required to obtain a representations and warranties insurance policy and has already bound that coverage. These terms describe the signed agreement; they do not eliminate the regulatory and other conditions that remain before completion.
The legal buyer is Addus HealthCare, Inc., an Illinois subsidiary of the parent registrant, and the seller is AccentCare, Inc. The transaction combines purchases of equity interests in specified entities with certain assets and liabilities of a Colorado asset seller. Although some transferred entities carry home-health wording in their legal names, the announced operating scope excludes AccentCare’s home health and hospice businesses.
Closing conditions and next steps
Beyond regulatory approvals and expiration of the HSR waiting period, closing conditions include the accuracy of representations and warranties and compliance with covenants. Addus expects to close following completion of regulatory approvals and subject to customary closing conditions. No exact closing date is established in the verified disclosures, and they do not establish whether an HSR filing has already been made. Signing the agreement is therefore the reported milestone, not completion of the acquisition.
Management expects the purchase to be accretive to financial results, but that statement is forward-looking. The verified facts do not establish an EPS accretion amount, acquired-business EBITDA or margin, quantified synergies, or a purchase-price allocation. The announced revenue expectation consequently supports a view of the business’s anticipated scale, without establishing the earnings contribution or a valuation multiple based on operating profit.
The September 14 release was furnished under Item 7.01 of the 8-K, rather than filed for purposes of Section 18 of the Exchange Act. The filing’s Item 1.01 describes the material agreement, and the exhibit package supplies the September 12 purchase agreement and September 14 announcement. Together, those disclosures support the signed, pending-close framing and distinguish contractual terms from management’s expectations for the business after completion.
Filing reference
Addus HomeCare Corporation disclosed the definitive Equity and Asset Purchase Agreement in Form 8-K AccNo 0001437749-26-030348 (Items 1.01, 7.01 and 9.01; earliest event September 12, 2026; filed September 14, 2026), with Exhibit 10.1 Purchase Agreement and Exhibit 99.1 press release furnished under Item 7.01.
What Addus still has to clear before AccentCare personal care closes
- Exact closing date is not fixed in AccNo 0001437749-26-030348; close remains subject to HSR waiting-period expiration, regulatory approvals, and customary conditions. - Final working-capital / customary purchase-price adjustments after the $275 million cash base are not quantified. - EBITDA, margins, and purchase-price allocation for the acquired Business are not disclosed in the verified Form 8-K body or Exhibit 99.1 used here. - Whether HSR has already been filed, and the status of other regulatory approvals, are not stated. - Path for AccentCare’s New York personal care operations (explicitly excluded) and any retained hospice/home health businesses is outside this packet.
Document trail
Sources & evidence
Primary documents used for this piece.
Addus HomeCare Corporation via SEC EDGAR
Addus Form 8-K EDGAR index AccNo 0001437749-26-030348
Form 8-K index · 2026-09-14
Addus HomeCare Corporation via SEC EDGAR
Addus Form 8-K Items 1.01/7.01/9.01 AccNo 0001437749-26-030348
Form 8-K · 2026-09-14
Addus HomeCare Corporation via SEC EDGAR
Exhibit 99.1 press release — AccentCare personal care acquisition AccNo 0001437749-26-030348
Exhibit 99.1 · 2026-09-14
Addus HomeCare Corporation via SEC EDGAR
Exhibit 10.1 Equity and Asset Purchase Agreement dated September 12, 2026 AccNo 0001437749-26-030348
Exhibit 10.1 · 2026-09-12
Visual brief
Verified figures
Sources & evidenceUSD millions
275
Cash purchase price (Item 1.01 / Ex 99.1; subject to customary adjustments)
Agreement 2026-09-12
Addus HomeCare Corporation via SEC EDGARAddus Form 8-K Items 1.01/7.01/9.01 AccNo 0001437749-26-030348Form 8-K · 09-14-2026USD millions per year
280
Expected annualized revenue addition (Ex 99.1 company expectation)
Ex 99.1 2026-09-14
Addus HomeCare Corporation via SEC EDGARExhibit 99.1 press release — AccentCare personal care acquisition AccNo 0001437749-26-030348Exhibit 99.1 · 09-14-2026customers
13700
Expected average daily census (Ex 99.1 company disclosure)
Ex 99.1 2026-09-14
Addus HomeCare Corporation via SEC EDGARExhibit 99.1 press release — AccentCare personal care acquisition AccNo 0001437749-26-030348Exhibit 99.1 · 09-14-2026
Corrections
We do not silently rewrite a published line. Material corrections receive a visible correction note, and we preserve the article’s update history.
Discuss this story. Join the TickerGrove community to talk companies, earnings, and markets, or request future coverage.
