Companies
Rexford closes a 22-property industrial sale to an EQT affiliate for about $1.2 billion
The September 16 closing follows an August 13 contract priced at $1,179,150,000 before credits. Item 2.01 does not state the cash that actually changed hands.
Sources
Based on verified sources: Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. Form 8-K AccNo 0001571283-26-000051, filed 2026-09-17. Item 2.01 reports completion of a 22-property disposition on September 16, 2026. Exhibit 10.1 is the purchase agreement. Exhibit 99.1 is a furnished press release.
Completion date September 16, 2026, in Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. Form 8-K AccNo 0001571283-26-000051, signed September 17, 2026. Contract price is Exhibit 10.1 Section 2.2(a). Square footage, lease term and the wider disposition totals are furnished Exhibit 99.1.
The portfolio is gone. On September 16, 2026, Rexford Industrial Realty, L.P., a subsidiary of Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. (NYSE: REXR), and certain of its subsidiaries completed the sale of 22 industrial properties to an affiliate of EQT Real Estate. Item 2.01 puts the aggregate purchase price at about $1.2 billion before customary credits, prorations and closing adjustments. The buyer named in the purchase agreement is Exeter 10545 Production, LLC. (Form 8-K AccNo 0001571283-26-000051)
The round number and the contract price
Item 2.01 reports a completed disposition, not a signing. The contract is Exhibit 10.1: the Agreement of Purchase and Sale and Escrow Instructions dated August 13, 2026, amended on September 10 and again on September 16. Section 2.2(a) sets the purchase price at $1,179,150,000, subject to the adjustments, prorations and credits in the agreement. That is the figure the 8-K rounds to about $1.2 billion before those items. It is not a closing statement.
Section 10.5 gives the buyer a $25 million credit at closing for certain capital improvements, allocated across the properties on a schedule. Other adjustments stay in the category the 8-K calls customary credits and prorations. Because the closing statement is not in Item 2.01, the net cash Rexford received is not in the filed item.
The sellers are the entities on Schedule A, subsidiaries tied to the operating partnership. The buyer is a Delaware limited liability company. Item 2.01 calls that buyer an affiliate of EQT Real Estate. The contract uses the Exeter name. This report does not describe any ownership chain between Exeter and EQT beyond that affiliate line.
Rexford says the August 13 agreement was previously disclosed in a Form 8-K filed August 18, 2026. The closing terms here are from this September report and the agreement filed with it.
Proceeds are still an intention
Item 2.01 says Rexford intends to use the net proceeds for general corporate purposes, including debt repayment, repurchases of common stock, and internal repositioning and development projects. The 8-K marks that sentence as forward-looking. It does not assign a dollar amount to any of those uses.
What the furnished release adds
On September 17 the company issued a press release, furnished as Exhibit 99.1 and not deemed filed. It describes the same closing: 22 properties, about $1.2 billion, an affiliate of EQT Real Estate. It adds building-level facts Item 2.01 omits. The portfolio totals 5.2 million rentable square feet, averaging 237,000 square feet a property. At closing, the weighted average remaining lease term was 2.7 years, and in-place rents were 28% above current market rates. The release puts estimated 2027 cash NOI yield at about 5.5%, and says that yield assumes a roll-down of above-market rents and expected tenant move-outs.
The release also places the sale in a previously announced $2.0 billion disposition of non-core assets. It says year-to-date dispositions total $1.5 billion, counting this transaction, $265 million of earlier announced sales, and $86 million closed so far in the third quarter. That sum, the company says, sits inside full-year 2026 disposition guidance of $1.5 billion to $2.0 billion. The release reaffirms 2026 guidance from the July 23, 2026 earnings release, and says Laura Clark, the chief executive, sees the closing as progress on that realignment. CBRE National Partners West advised Rexford.
On cash already deployed, the release is wider than this one closing. Third quarter to date, it says Rexford has used a portion of disposition proceeds to repay $485 million of debt and repurchase $205 million of common stock, under a previously announced $1.0 billion share repurchase program. Those amounts are not Item 2.01’s allocation of this portfolio’s net proceeds. The completed sale, the count of 22, and the approximate price are the filed facts. The square footage, the lease term, the rent spread and the wider disposition totals are furnished.
What Rexford’s closing report does not show as cash received
- Item 2.01 gives an aggregate price before credits, prorations and closing adjustments. It does not state net cash received. Exhibit 10.1 sets the contract price at $1,179,150,000 and a $25 million buyer credit, which is still not a closing statement. - Item 2.01 does not list the 22 properties. The property schedule is Schedule B of the purchase agreement. - The $485 million of debt repaid and $205 million of common stock repurchased in Exhibit 99.1 are furnished third-quarter figures about disposition proceeds generally, not a filed split of this sale. The release also refers to a $1.0 billion share repurchase program.
Document trail
Sources & evidence
Primary documents used for this piece.
Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. via SEC EDGAR
Rexford Form 8-K Items 2.01, 7.01 and 9.01 AccNo 0001571283-26-000051
Form 8-K · 2026-09-17
Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. via SEC EDGAR
Exhibit 10.1 purchase and sale agreement dated August 13, 2026, as amended
Exhibit 10.1 · 2026-09-17
Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. via SEC EDGAR
Exhibit 99.1 press release dated September 17, 2026, furnished
Exhibit 99.1 · 2026-09-17
Visual brief
Verified figures
Sources & evidenceproperties
22
Industrial properties disposed (Item 2.01)
Closed 2026-09-16
Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. via SEC EDGARRexford Form 8-K Items 2.01, 7.01 and 9.01 AccNo 0001571283-26-000051Form 8-K · 09-17-2026USD billions
1.2
Aggregate purchase price before customary credits, prorations and closing adjustments (Item 2.01; approximate)
Closed 2026-09-16
Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. via SEC EDGARRexford Form 8-K Items 2.01, 7.01 and 9.01 AccNo 0001571283-26-000051Form 8-K · 09-17-2026Contract purchase price in Exhibit 10.1 Section 2.2(a), subject to adjustments, prorations and credits
1179150000
USD
Agreement dated 2026-08-13, as amended
Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. via SEC EDGARExhibit 10.1 purchase and sale agreement dated August 13, 2026, as amendedExhibit 10.1 · 09-17-2026
Corrections
We do not silently rewrite a published line. Material corrections receive a visible correction note, and we preserve the article’s update history.
Discuss this story. Join the TickerGrove community to talk companies, earnings, and markets, or request future coverage.
